Annual fundraiser, a quick update

It has been just over a week since the blog’s annual fundraiser was launched and I thought readers might like a quick update since it’s not clear from the Go Fund Me page alone how the fundraiser is going. The total received from all sources, PayPal, Go Fund Me, and direct deposits now stands at £4960, just £40 shy of the £5000 target. I am confident that the target can be exceeded in the next couple of days. My immense thanks and deep gratitude to everyone who supports my work, whether that’s through a donation or just by dropping me a line to say that they appreciate my writing. It means more than you can imagine all the more so since it is one of the few avenues of creativity which remain open to me following my stroke.

It always makes me deeply apprehensive when I launch the annual fundraiser, not just because I am asking people to put their money where my mouth is, but also because I am aware that certain people who hate this blog and the positions it takes would love nothing more than to gloat at its perceived failure. They’re going to be deprived of their opportunity for gloating for another year.

I will keep the fundraiser running for another couple of weeks. From the feedback I have been receiving there is a real need for a publication which continues to support Scottish independence and which is not drawn into culture wars or conspiracy theories or attacks on other pro-independence parties for ‘doing independence wrong’. With the success of this year’s fundraiser I will be able to do that for another year, through the next Westminster general election and beyond.

My heartfelt thanks to everyone who values and supports this blog.

___________________________________________

I am currently running the annual fundraiser for this blog. It relies on your support to keep going. Please consider making small donation. Now more than ever it is vital that someone continues to make the case for independence without getting sidetracked by conspiracy theories or culture wars issues. You can donate to my crowdfund page by clicking on the following link

https://www.gofundme.com/f/wee-ginger-crowdfunder-2024

Or you can help to support this blog with a PayPal donation. Please log into Paypal.com and send a payment to the email address weegingerbook@yahoo.com. Or alternatively click the donate button below. If you don’t have a PayPal account, just select “donate with card” after clicking the button. You can also donate by PayPal by using my PayPal.me link PayPal.Me/weegingerdug –

https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/weegingerdug

If you’d like an alternative method of donating – by cheque or directly into my account, please email me at weegingerbook@yahoo.com for details

Obviously recent developments concerning Peter Murrell will attract a lot of interest and people will want to express their views. However I must remind people that Scotland has very strict laws about contempt of court and you must exercise extreme caution in what you post. Ideally it is best to say nothing. I must also warn you that you are personally responsible for any comments you make.

Donate Button

9 comments on “Annual fundraiser, a quick update

  1. patalexisharvey says:

    Paul, it’s a fact of life that those who contribute the most are indeed, the last to know

    As other have said, so much more eloquently than me, you are a shining light & a beacon of hope in the long dark path to independence – but we will get there!

    Your efforts are an education & lifeline to many

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Bob Lamont says:

    Incoming in about 2 weeks when next pension clears, but will contact to confirm banking details are still correct.

    “I am aware that certain people who hate this blog and the positions it takes would love nothing more than to gloat at its perceived failure…” will continue to be bitterly disappointed… Tough shit.

    All the best to you and yours, keep on doing what you do….

  3. scotiahazel says:

    Paul, you are such inspiration to us all. I’m so glad your fundraiser has been successful. I look forward to all your blogs, so glad you’re keeping on writing them.

  4. Capella says:

    Great to hear your target has been met. I did wonder if attention has been diverted away from it lately! But good idea to keep it running for a while yet to let people catch up. You are a unique voice in the Indy blogosphere.

  5. deelsdugs says:

    You’re very welcome Paul ☺️

  6. DrJim says:

    This blog will for sure not fail for the want of a couple of quid

  7. kersk6 says:

    Thanks for all you do Paul. I have stopped buying newspapers and listening to the TV. I get so angry with all the tripe they put out. If it wasn’t for you and most of the bloggers I would be pulling my hair out. Keep well

  8. iusedtobeenglish says:

    A small (and I’m afraid I do mean small) token of thanks for all you do. 

    Wish it could be more. Maybe after independence pensions will rise! 🙂

Leave a comment