Welcome to Cairnstoon

Video of the first of two book launches of an anthology of Chris Cairns’ wonderful cartoons. The second launch is this evening at Freespace bookshop in Easter Road in Edinburgh. Me and the dug will be in attendance.

The book will be available in all good bookshops and online at www.cairnstoon.com

The video is by Phantom Power (@PhantomPower14 on Twitter), who also produced the Altered State documentary. Part 2 of Altered State is due out soon.

10 comments on “Welcome to Cairnstoon

  1. macart763 says:

    Greg Moodie shouldn’t feel too bad. I have it on excellent authority that Alex Salmond is a big fan, though he’s still wondering about the shower cap.😀

    Great vid.

  2. Aucheorn says:

    Waiting eagerly for the Postie.🙂

  3. Capella says:

    What a lovely video. Good to see the creative geniuses in their natural habitat. Well done whoever put it together. Who was the pianist?

    • Phantom Power says:

      Thanks! The piano player was a great wee guy but didn’t catch his name. He did a great bluesy rendition of ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ which is fitting.

  4. Hetty says:

    Ah looks great, will buy v soon. Great vid, well maybe except for the ex journalist of Scotsman, slightly dissing Rev Stu of WoS.

    I would love to have made it to the launch…shame just found it now, but great to know about freespace gallery…will check it out.

    Good luck for the launch. Cheers. Hetty.

  5. arthur thomson says:

    First time I have seen Chris in person (on the video) and the immediate thing that came to my mind is that Hamish is Chris himself in cartoon form. I love the Hamish cartoons. I’ll be expecting the book from one of my offspring for Christmas – along with my Dug books.

  6. Jan Cowan says:

    I badly want a framed copy of the post Referendum drawing “Thank God that’s the last I’ll see of him.” And just round the corner the Scottish Lion is quietly examining his claws! Love it.

    Paul, do you know if this is possible? I can’t bring myself to destroy the book by removing my favourite.

Leave a Reply

