A wee ginger holiday

I badly need a break, desperately, urgently. Not that I want to make this blog into the Labour party in Scotland – you know, a pity party – but I really need to get away for a while to recharge my mental, emotional and physical batteries. I’ve not had a holiday for over eight years, when my late partner Andy and I went to Granada for a week. After that his health deteriorated and his mobility was poor, so it was the last holiday we had.

The past year has been hectic. Andy passed away. There was the wee matter of a referendum. Then I moved house, took up blogging and writing as a full time job, developed a case of psoriasis that would make the Singing Detective go “ouch”, and we had the minor matter of a political landslide. So it’s fair to say that I’ve had a busy time of it over the past 12 months or so.

But now it’s time to stop for a wee breather, to go somewhere different and spend some time relaxing. So on 18 June I am off to Boston for 8 days. That’s Boston Massachusetts, not Boston Lincolnshire. I last visited when I was 18 and had a great time, but I’ve not been back for over 30 years. It will be interesting to see how it’s changed. I’m flying out on 18 June, and will be away for 8 days – although I’ll need a day or so to recover from the jet lag once I return home.

The dug is going to stay with friends in sunny Glenboig. They’ll spoil him rotten and let him sleep on the sofa, and take him for walks in the fields. So he’ll be well looked after.

Macart – who has written some great guest pieces for the blog – will be minding the shop while I am away. He’ll write a piece or two himself when I’m away, but he won’t be writing everyday. So if you’ve ever fancied writing a guest post for Wee Ginger Dug – this is your opportunity. You can write about anything that takes your fancy (just as long as it won’t get me sued), and up to a maximum of 2000 words. You can write an essay or a poem, it’s up to you.

Send your blog entries to me at weegingerdug[at]gmail.com (remember to replace [at] by @) by Wednesday 17th June, and I’ll pass them on to Macart. He’ll have the final say about what gets published.

Meanwhile – if there are any regular readers of this blog in the Boston area, drop me a line and perhaps we can arrange to meet up while I’m visiting your fair city.

Donate to the Dug

This blog relies on your support and donations to keep going – I need to make a living, and have bills to pay. Clicking the donate button will allow you to make a payment directly to my Paypal account. You do not need a Paypal account yourself to make a donation. You can donate as little, or as much, as you want. Many thanks.

Donate Button

42 comments on “A wee ginger holiday

  1. Anne Lyden says:

    So glad to hear you’re taking a well earned break. Heaven knows you deserve it! Have a fabulous time!

  2. mary docherty says:

    Well deserved you an well done MacArt..so nae letturs fae America…!!!

  3. mary docherty says:

    Cheers !!!

  4. […] A wee ginger holiday […]

  5. Marie Clark says:

    Have a great time Paul, you deserve it after the year that you have had.
    Great news that Macart is keeping and eye on things, he tends to be a sensible chap, so I’m sure your blog is in safe hands.

  6. Steve Bowers says:

    Well deserved Paul. kick back and relax.

  7. Gavin says:

    Have a Great Wee Ginger holiday.
    Party on, Dug—just not a Tea Party.

  8. brewsed says:

    Well, if anyone deserves a break, you do. So, go. Go with the knowledge that there are a lot of chiels, loons and quines who hope, nay insist, you have a wonderful time in ‘merca.

  9. diabloandco says:

    Enjoy ! And I’m sure wee ginger will enjoy the fresh air too!

  10. WRH2 says:

    Have a well deserved holiday in Boston. Send us some pics though.

  11. WRH2 says:

    Oops, forgot to wish the Dug a good holiday in the countryside as well.

  12. benmadigan says:

    join with all the other posters in wishing you a wonderful time in Boston and the Dug a great holiday in the country.
    hope both of you come back rested , refreshed and rarin’ to go again.
    Best wishes also to Macart as he keeps house while you are away.
    Have a great time, paul – you deserve it

  13. All the best Paul. If anybody’s earned s good break it’s yourself!
    Have a rerr terr in Boston!

  14. Morag says:

    Look out Boston! Hope you have a great trip All the best Morag

    Sent from my iPhone


  15. Isabel Cooney says:

    Happy holiday!

  16. Steve Asaneilean says:

    Yup – well-deserved.

    Wee donation on its way to buy a beer or two – Anchor Steam Beer is very good…

  17. Albawoman says:

    Have a fab holiday. It will be really interesting to read your observations when your return. Missing you already!

  18. Jan Cowan says:

    Can we have pics of Ginger’s holiday too? Have a wonderful time, Paul. You deserve no less than the very best.

  19. Marion Scott says:

    Have a lovely holiday. I wish I could write something but will have to leave it that I hope you and the ginger dug come back refreshed and ready for the next struggle. Enjoy yourself.

  20. Hazel Smith says:

    Have a great wee holiday. You deserve it.

  21. mumsyhugs says:

    Altogether now – sing along – “We’re all going on a summer holiday, no more worries for a week or two ……”

    Have a great time Paul.🙂

    And double hugs tae the dug🙂

  22. Lewis Thomson says:

    Have a great holiday! You’ll be missed.

  23. macart763 says:

    Wait whut?😮

  24. MoJo says:

    all the best to both of you – enjoy the break…you’ve earned it!

  25. Aucheorn says:

    Enjoy your break, try the Clam Chowder at Crickets, said to be the best in the world. There’s a little place just into New Hampshire (Land of the Free) which I personally think is better.

    Boston, my 2nd favourite city in the world.

  26. Fillofficer says:

    Suffrin socketash…nae ging furra fortnite. I may not last…….

  27. Scott says:

    Paul. Enjoy Boston. It’s a lovely city. You should try P town, if you get the chance!

  28. jdman says:

    Dinnae forgit whaur ye belang noo!

  29. chicthomson says:

    While you’re there, throw things in the water, the English hate that!

  30. Helen Mills says:

    Have a great time, Look forward to the holiday stories

  31. You hiv a ball. I look forward tae Macart’s pieces. (I don’t mean chits.)

  32. Cag-does-thinking says:

    Have a great holiday and don’t do as the legendary folk singer Leon Rosselson did. There’s a wee bit of paper you have to sign to get your visa along the lines of “Are you commited to the downfall or overthrow of the United States to which he ticked Yes.

    Who’s feeding the dug while your away? We care about these things.

  33. arthur thomson says:

    Enjoy. Take all the time you need but don’t be too long.

  34. Saor Alba says:

    Enjoy your break, Paul and WGD.

  35. Please remember to show your appreciation on the donation link folks, we all love his talent and craft and this blog has brightened up many a day for me.

  36. Wee Jonny says:

    Macart – Woo Hoo.

    Oh and have a nice time away Paul.

  37. lisa says:

    Have a brilliant holiday Paul!
    You’ve made the unbearable bearable for myself and I’m sure many more of your readers. Thank you. Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

