We Seek a Country

Since I’m not doing a proper blog post today, here’s a wee video a friend sent me the link to.  It deserves to be seen more widely.

We Seek a Country by Ben Macpherson




13 comments on “We Seek a Country

  1. Nana says:

    Stirring stuff. Yes is the way!

  2. mary vasey says:

    I agree wholeheartedly nana YES is the only solution. AYE for a better Scotland.

  3. brianmchugheng says:

    I saw this some time ago… if we had an unbiased media in Scotland, this speech by AS would be known by everyone… it is up there with ‘A rat race is for rats’ by Jimmy Reid and the famous ‘Secret Societies’ speech by JFK.

  4. Kjr says:

    It is a disgrace that this isn’t widely known…. When we return a resounding yes this will be the most famous speech ever made in Scotland.

  5. Capella says:

    Brilliant video. Should definitely be circulated widely. I loved the placards, especially

  6. David G. says:

    That was wonderful !

    I don’t watch tv and I’d never heard the AS speech before, I don’t remember reading it before either so Brian’s comment about the Scottish media is spot on, the speech really does need to be known everywhere. I can’t remember when I was last moved so much by a political speech.
    The closer we get to referendum day the more it will resonate.

    Congratulations to Ben for a brilliant video, the music track was great.
    I’d love to see released as an actual download / cd , considering how few sales it takes to make the UK charts sales in Scotland alone would be enough to ensure it made the UK charts. Wouldn’t it be brilliant for the BBC to have to play it ?

  7. smiling vulture says:


  8. macart763 says:

    I found my country three posts ago Paul and I’ve never been so proud.🙂

  9. Dr A Brown says:

    Fair gave me goose bumps.
    Why don’t I know about this? It should be played daily on the TV and in as many places as possible. It raises hope and gives feelings of empowerment. Makes me feel that I’m not alone. We want a better, fairer Scotland. Let’s go for it!

  10. blindingmemory says:

    Can I ask if anyone knows where the “The future might be uncertain, yet I’d still rather choose my own” poster/image is from? That completely sums up my point of view on the referendum – would be great to share the image around.

  11. David G. says:


    I tried googling too see if I could find the source of that line but had no luck.

    What I did find was this, which seems appropriate.

    “You and I, as citizens, have the power to set this country’s course.

    You and I, as citizens, have the obligation to shape the debates of our time – not only with the votes we cast, but with the voices we lift in defense of our most ancient values and enduring ideals.

    Let each of us now embrace, with solemn duty and awesome joy, what is our lasting birthright. With common effort and common purpose, with passion and dedication, let us answer the call of history, and carry into an uncertain future that precious light of freedom.

    Thank you, God Bless you, and may He forever bless these United States of America.”

    It’s from President Obama’s 2013 inauguration speech


  12. YESGUY says:

    Wow , you have done it again Paul.

    You take a day off and leave this wee nugget to keep up our spirits. Job done Paul.

    I am often moved by the voices of the “ordinary people of Scotland” but i must admit wee Eck has a way to really get you thinking. Every passing day i have more respect for him than any other. Why do so many folk not listen instead of “not liking the man”. He is our foremost politician and a bloody good one at that. Never considered my self a SNP supporter until now.

    Thanks again and enjoy your day off Paul. You deserve much more.

    Me ??

    I’m off to listen to the rest of that speech in Perth on Youtube.

    Scotland say “AYE”

Leave a Reply

