Wee Ginger Care Needs

I’ve registered a crowd funding campaign with Indiegogo.  At the moment it is set up to accept donations by credit card only. I am trying to add an option to donate by Paypal.


Wings Over Scotland have very kindly offered to receive any postal donations by cheque, postal order or cash and to forward them to us when the fundraising period is over.  Please make any cheques or postal orders payable to Andrew Kavanagh-Mosson, and send them to the following address:

Wee Ginger Care Fund, C/O Wings Over Scotland, Suite 55, 196 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AT

Please note that any donations made by post will not figure in the Indiegogo totals.

The purpose of this fund raiser is not to raise money for the independence campaign, but to help pay for additional care and support services for my partner Andy, who suffers from vascular dementia.

Thank you for your support, time, and interest.

DSCF0245Update 18 June: I’ve added an option to pay by Paypal to the Indiegogo fund raiser.  When you make a donation, you will now have the option to pay by Paypal.

I asked at our local post office about renting a PO Box for offline donations, but was told that they don’t do it, and I’ll have to go to the sorting office.  I’ll get that done tomorrow.

But the big news for today was that we got a wee visit from Ronnie, the star of Wings over Scotland’s comments section, and the Dug made a new friend.



60 comments on “Wee Ginger Care Needs

  1. macart763 says:

    I’ll spread the word.

    Soon as Paypal gets up and running, I’ll be more than happy to contribute.

    • weegingerdug says:

      I seem to have the wrong type of Paypal account. I have to upgrade it to a business account first.

      • macart763 says:

        Have to admit the ins and outs of these things are a mystery to me too. I still put my cash card in the wrong way round at checkouts.😀

        I’m a bit old fashioned that way, paying for stuff with cash n’that instead of plastic transfers. Bloody terrified of credit cards too. Absurd fear I know, but they always scared the bejesus out of me at how easily they could be abused.

  2. Nana says:

    Ready and willing with my donation!

  3. david says:

    Very happy to contribute. First place I visit in the morning for my news. Its like Robert Fisk with jokes. And just as angry.

  4. mary vasey says:

    That’s me done my good deed for the day . Cheers Paul keep on telling it like it is man😎

  5. diabloandco says:

    Happy to add my tuppenceworth when I can use the old fashioned method!

  6. diabloandco says:

    P.S Someone said that you are sofa sleeping ,not the best way to get much needed rest nor to keep your spine in working order , is it possible to use contributions to Andy’s care as a means of ensuring a healthy carer? After all if you aren’t in tip top nick you can’t fulfil your commitment.

    • weegingerdug says:

      I’ve now spoken to two different benefits advisors, and have been told that things like that are perfectly OK. I’m going to use part of the money to sort out better sleeping arrangements.

  7. Steve Bowers says:

    Done what I can and shared on FB, can’t wait to be able to use Scotland instead of UK on the “country” list

  8. Rosa Alba Macdonald says:

    Great. I cannot afford much. I am often in awe – with regard to American friends – how much people contribute to those in need. Equally it is a shameful indictment of our system. Because we have a tax system that is not based on being chased up/dolled out by the Parish Session or Toon Cooncil of yesteryear. We have a delivery system in the form various arms of Government and Local Authorities. This is so very, very much not as it should be. I, like Paul, am in tears at people’s generosity, but also at the systems systematic dismantling and wholsesale failure. Increasingly inspired by Common Weal.

  9. Dick Gaughan says:

    Ths might help let you known how much you’re valued. Get yourself a decent bed, pal.

    • Jim Thomson says:

      A decent mattress is far more important😛

      Seriously, they are expensive, but Tempur do a fine rage of EXTREMELY comfy ones in most standard sizes. One of their pillows has helped me with a dodgy neck and I take it wherever I travel.

      On the subject of donations, I’ve rattled the bucket and will pass on details as best I can.

      Keep up the great work.

    • Capella says:

      I was just wondering what the various party policies are on “Independence for Carers” so thanks for the link.

  10. Tris says:

    Shared with love and respect.

  11. arthur thomson says:

    waiting for paypal option. If it is long in happening will send a cheque.

    • weegingerdug says:

      I need to upgrade my Paypal account to a business account in order to use it with Indiegogo. I’ve done that now, but need to check with the bank for the Paypal code in order to verify the account. That ought to happen tomorrow.

  12. Andrew Brown says:

    Glad to be able to contribute. Great to see you’re 20% there already. I think you’ll find you’ve lots of fans and supporters out there (or is it here?). Keep your chin up as my Dad used to say – and keep blogging !

  13. Sasha Distel says:

    Indiegogo also accepts debit cards and does take you through to your own bank security for anyone worried if you’ve not used it before.
    You know Paul I know this is OT but I would pay to get into a wee gallery/exhibition showing the street models you’ve made. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if there was a wee gallery somewhere with all the talent that’s on display from Yes people from all walks of life.Poems, stories, films, posters, the bike from Rome to home, knitting, your models( although not directly for the Ref) the lot ! What a community venture !

  14. Yo Wee Dug !!! Well Done for more hard work on our behalf .Hope to see the pay sights soon!!

  15. rab_the_doubter says:

    Paul, wee donation made to help you on your way.
    I am honoured to be a small part of this.

  16. Gah, I look forward to the day when I get to scroll down to Scotland instead of the UK. Glad to make a donation Paul, wish I could have made it more, you have been one of the inspirations of this campaign and I wish you all the best. Slàinte Mhath Paul

  17. Nana says:

    That’s my donation sent through my indiegogo name Cailleach.
    All the best to you

  18. Clatchard Craig says:

    Your learned colleague the Peat-Worrier recently wrote “If you want to invest in quality journalism, buy a paper. The same goes for quality blogging”. I couldn’t agree more. See you at the payment page…

  19. MoJo says:

    all the best to you and Andy – there are a lot of things money can’t buy but I hope this will help you both secure some quality time….

  20. YESGUY says:

    Dropped to the site you set up Paul and I donated a small amount but will drop by when i can to top up. I don’t get monthly paid so it is a weekly thing just now. I am never surprised by the generosity of oor folk. We do like a wee cause and helping a friend ( and you have a few now Paul) in need is what friends are supposed to do.

    It;s refreshing to see some things never change.

    There is a wealth of “hidden talent” out there, and the YES side seem to be a right creative lot, positive and togetherness , something the No side lack . Your up there with the best Paul and have given your readers a place to go when they are fed up or looking for a wee laugh.

    Keep up the great work and keep the comments coming too

  21. Teri says:

    Glad to have been able to help, Paul. I hope everyone is spreading the word as we Scots are generous folks and many will be willing to help, I’m sure. Even a tiny amount would be appreciated. I do hope you raise loadsa money that will help give you and Andy both a better quality of life.

    Very best wishes to you both.

  22. Kevin Brown says:

    How could I not contribute – sorry it was not more but kudos to the guys that managed £100 or more.

    All the best to you and I hope it makes a difference to both of you. x

  23. midgehunter says:

    Just got my computer back today from the PC-doctor and will need a couple of days to get everything, incl. home-banking reinstalled and running again. Then I’ll send a donation over. (The target’s probably already been smashed to bits!)

    Looks like the river of luck is starting to flow in your direction again…

  24. […] Wee Ginger Care Needs […]

  25. David Love says:

    Managed to make donation using indiegogo. Best of luck for you and Andy.

  26. Jan Cowan says:

    Only recently discovered your site which I now thoroughly enjoy. Will contribute via Paypal when possible. All best wishes to you and yours.

  27. Stuart Black says:

    I’m in. Thanks Paul, for all you are doing, and all the very best to you and Andy.

  28. Sheltie2014 says:

    Donation done and all the best. Jacqueline

  29. eezy says:

    I really hate CyberNats….Vile bunch so we are!

  30. Holebender says:

    I’ve tried and tried to make a contribution but that website just doesn’t like me or doesn’t want my money, so I’ve given up. All my other indy-gogo payments to other causes sailed through without a hitch but this one? No way.

    • weegingerdug says:

      Sorry about that. No idea what the problem is. I’ll be adding a postal address shortly for donations by cheque, and all going well the Indiegogo page should accept Paypal payments tomorrow.

  31. Sue Varley says:

    Will wait for the postal address. Paul you two deserve every penny of this appeal, I am so pleased you found a way to do this. Best wishes to you both.

  32. Dr JM Mackintosh says:

    Thank you Paul.
    Hope my donation helps you and Andy.
    Keep blogging….

  33. MoJo says:

    a little bit of inspiration for the independence movement from Jim Carrey https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajMpfPYlHi4#t=16

  34. Aberdeen Lass says:

    I could only give a little, but you know many a mickle maks a muckle! And I really think you should be considering a career in writing, though at the moment I know you have more pressing priorities. Lots of love, Paul and best wishes for the future.

  35. Shirley Nott says:

    I used a debit card. Nae hass.

  36. Shirley Nott says:

    Btw, thank you for all you do…

  37. Look forward to the postal address. Happy to help!!

  38. Hugh Wallace says:

    Reblogged this on Are We Really Better Together? and commented:
    A worthy cause if there ever was one. Also, I might add, a sad indictment of the fact that we are not Better Together if people in need of care and those who care for them are unable to make ends meet. I don’t know Paul or Andy other than through Paul’s blog and I am sure they are neither more nor less deserving than any couple who find themselves in a similar predicament. But you can only help those you can and I have chosen to help these two for no greater reason than that I have been affected by Paul’s blogs so want to give something back in return. The charity of family, friends and strangers is a wonderful thing to behold, but nobody should need to rely on it. Sadly, in Scotland today, too many people need such assistance though few will be lucky enough to receive it.

    • Kevin Brown says:

      I agree with you 100% and my reasons for donating are the same. I don’t know Paul or Andy but I do enjoy the blog. It’s my way of saying thanks,

      Looking at the donor page brought a tear to my eye because there are still people out there who still give a damn about others and I raise my hat to everyone who has donated / will donate no matter how big or small.

  39. macgilleleabhar says:

    Hi Paul, I worked in Sheltered Housing until I retired “Late” in March. I have a tiny insight into what you are at.I Paypalled a wee Aberdonian donation.
    Duine-uasal are the only words an old teuchter can say off you.
    I am just back from Salou and I am still pondering my experiences. A bored looking guy with a clipboard doing a tourist board survey stopped me and tried what I suppose was Russian first then French and gave up. I said Scottish and the shutters came off his eyes and the survey was forgotten in discussions in English about independence! Great guy!
    Next day I was looking at a hammock on the pavement and the shop owner sidled up, same preambles but he said he was French. Then Bretagne and there followed a conversation on Cataluyna, Basque, Brittany , Cornwall, Eire,Wales and Scotland. Lovely time.Great people.
    Best regards to you three especially “Wee Ginger”.

  40. Eilean says:

    A day and a half and 60% there already and thats without the off line donations yet to come. Briliant! Just shows what you can do when it is the right thing to do. But we all know that already!

  41. andygm1 says:

    This is my first proper look at the dug as on an IPad, only his hindquarters appear and while he has a bonny arise, I think his face is more expressive.

    Handsome and wise looking wee fella.

    Oh, and I bunged you some dosh, if anybody deserves it, you do.

  42. andygm1 says:

    Airse! Bloody Autocorrect!

  43. macart763 says:

    Pay day at last.🙂

  44. Weegiewarbler says:

    PayPal worked with no problems Paul. All the best, love n hugs xxx

  45. alex mckechnie says:

    any more on the PO Box for cash etc

Leave a Reply

